THE “BEST OF 2018”


(Columbus, OH)— Juror Kathryn Gremley selected 15 awards from the 76 works in the “Best of 2018,” on view May 6–June 24 at the Ohio Craft Museum:

The $1000 Challenge Award for Excellence—the exhibition’s top prize—went to metals artist Rachel S. Smith (Stow, OH) for Dandelion Aureole: Radiance. Columbus, Ohio, glass artist Michael Hric received the Watkins Printing Poster Award and Yassenoff Family Award for Excellence for Hyacinth Rotation. Winners of cash awards are (name, title of work, award): Kate Gorman, A Chorus of Cicadas, Collectors’ Award for Excellence; Andrew L. Kuebeck, Jake, Award for Excellence; Nicole Jacquard, The Graduate, Award for Excellence in Metals; Oxana N. Dallas, Inferno, Ruth Lantz Award for Excellence in Fiber; Andrea L. Stern, Mom Hair Don’t Care, Lonsway Memorial Award for Humor in Craft; Sebastian Coleman, Ancestor Series—Amethyst, Labino Memorial Award for Excellence in Glass; William C. Brouillard, Atomic Steam-Punk Ikon, Functional Ceramics Workshop Award for Excellence; Randi A. Channel, Peach, Ed Honton Memorial Award for Excellence; Elizabeth Runyon, When the Circus Comes to Town, Barbara Robinson Award for Excellence in Traditional Craft; Michael B. Hays, Amasumpa: Dreams of Many Cows #1, ODC Director’s Award for Excellence; Isabel Zeng, $1000 ODC Scholarship Award; Adwowa P. Obeng, Emerging Craftsman Award and the Brooke Hannan Memorial Emerging Craftsman Scholarship Award.